top of page

Not Forgotten

(Happenings in March 2020).

COVID-19 is now very prevalent in Ukraine and in Natalia’s area. While Natalia is eager to return to her c-community after being away for so long, her doctor has told her to take extra precautions for her arm to recover and also because of Natalia’s compromised immune system and her chronic lung disease, she is at greater risk of serious complications with getting this virus. Natalia was in tears at the many people who have asked how her health is. She says, "honestly people for a long time, no one is interested in what I say and my health”. I assured her that she is not forgotten, but dearly loved by many people and to never lose sight of this.


Natalia shared this with me:

“I think so that there are different difficult situations in the life path, and when difficult situations come, it would seem that they are not solvable, and the faith of many is lost, then we need to try not to forget what the Lord did for us and remember His affairs in our life and praying to Him never to let it be forgotten! (Now I mean myself, my life experience).”


I told Natalia one day that it's difficult for me to fully take in our Skype conversations because I get so focused on translating in order to understand her. I suggested that we should take a moment and just act like we understand each other and talk as if we speak the same language. It was so wonderful hearing her voice, and looking into her eyes, and responding to her facial expressions. A different level of connection happened then. We both very easily forget our thought process as we speak. I think that maybe this is one reason why our calls can last long. We often have to pause and wait patiently for the other to remember their thoughts. Quite often we laugh over this! Something about this is so special to me and even little moments like these, I will remember for a very long time.

Natalia is inspired to get a job to earn money for a smartphone so that we can communicate on Skype more often. She has never held a job before. I want to believe in her and I pray that she will rely on God's strength to make this happen. As I have mentioned before how good intentions can only get a person so far, the same goes with inspiration. All the inspiration in the world is folly if it does not propel us to take action toward our main goal or to step away when necessary. There have been times when I've felt that the kind of life I live is one where you finally prepare a meal and by the time it is ready to be served, no one is hungry anymore. Then I think of all my inconsistencies and wonder if this is how God feels towards us when He invites us to His Table to reveal wonders to us, yet then we often lose our hunger and thirst for His Word and Truth, turning our efforts elsewhere. Then we wonder why we cannot hear from God, why He seems absent, when it is we who have distanced ourselves. God has not forgotten us, but offers us a Spirit-filled life-fulfilling journey, seeking and empowered by One Lord, with unique paths along the way for everyone. His provisions accommodate for our deepest needs and the greatest loss would be to forget the greatest Source of our sustenance.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page